Sunday, April 17, 2011

Going through a breakup?!?!

It is hard to define love, some find it in books, and for them it is limited only to the books, some like to believe it doesn’t exist. And then there is the other kind. Those who are always looking for it in the eyes of the one they love.  Each moment they look at each other and their eyes sparkle up. That is a subtle indication of love in their hearts.

A few weeks back, I received a very painful phone call from a friend who was going through terrible heart ache. He had just broken up with his boyfriend. Soon, another caller followed that was from a girlfriend who also had a break up. ‘Is it a break up season or what?’ I said to myself. Whoever, calls me, has a painful tale to share. I don’t consider myself to be an expert in relationships. Having gone through a series of painful affairs myself; I sure do know ways to handle the terrible ail it causes and the void that it leaves us with.
First, let’s see some of the main reasons of break ups:

a)      Incompatibility: Better halves no longer are better for each other, due to being incompatible. There could be a number of reasons why that can happen.  Sexual dissatisfaction, lack of understanding, emotional and/or psychological differences and cultural differences to name a few.  Especially, in same-sex couples this is one of the major reasons of break up.

b)      Infidelity:  Infidelity or unfaithfulness is not just being sexual with other people, if there are unfaithful feelings, thoughts of being emotionally or physically intimate with others, then congratulations! You are already half way there and soon ‘will’ lead to infidelity. Lies and distrust the close counterparts of unfaithfulness.

c)       Expectation Mismatch: This is the most common reason of break ups. It is human to have expectations however; unreal expectations such as a desire to have your partner do something for you, looks good only on books and films. If what you expect happens, don’t be over whelmed. If it doesn’t, show it yourself how you want to be treated. If they still don’t get it, talk to them and let them know how you feel or what you expect.

d)      Loss of trust: Partners stop trusting each other and the evil ‘doubt’ comes in between. Faith and trust are your two companions you should never bid good bye. It is terribly hard to regain them. Once either of the partners starts being indecisive or doubtful the other is put on a stand every time there is a difference of opinion.

e)      They don’t have balls: About four years back I was dating someone from Hyderabad city in India. He seemed like a perfect person to be with. He waited for me to fall for him. When I did and he was certain that I was entrapped, he proposed his love. Then one night while he was dropping me home, right after the goodbye kiss in his car, he came out with his true intentions. “My mother wants me to get married next year.” I looked at him with disgust on my face, even before I could think of right words to say, he said “Even if I get married to a woman, I will still be committed to one man.” I mean, have I got ‘Loser’ in bold written on my forehead. I step out of the car and asked him to take a hike. It was painful, but I am sure that was much less than what I would have felt on his wedding day. Some men are absolutely fine with this adjustment. So I guess good for them! For all others, please DO NOT get into that trap. All the other possible reasons fall under these main categories.

Now, let’s see the stages of a break up.

Stage one is ‘I am innocent’. This is a very subtle stage and most of you will not notice it, this is where your guy will start treating you as friend, will start socialising more than before, will introduce you extremely good looking buddies; those you have definitely never met before. When you ask how they know each other; the answer will either be “Oh! We are colleagues, or he is XYZ’s cousin or acquaintance of some sort”. They will share tales of how someone was hitting on them or how someone at work totally came out to them. All that they will say will make them appear saintly, and harmless.  They may start picking topics to tick you off. Such as jokingly talking about threesome, or orgy (having discussed that you detest these) all they are trying to do is test your patience.  So, you start a fight and they find a way to chicken out of the relationship.

Guys do not want to handle drama, tears, emotional breakdown. So, according to them the best way to avoid all that is to stop calling, responding to your calls or messages, avoid meeting you, start creating an online dating profile, start lying, exhibiting different behaviour, spending longer hours in office (clearly to avoid you). The last one is the safest bet actually, one can always say “there is too much work load now a days” or “have been busy at work, so couldn’t call you.” This is the second stage called trying to avoid.

Now, the third and final stage, this one is called ‘Parting ways’. Most of us have gone through it sometime or the other. And we all know how painful it is. Most relationships will finish at stage two, generally with a fight. For those who are patient it may reach this stage. Here they look for an excuse to dump you.  Might try to hack through your email, find faults and then comes the final conversation.  My personal experience says you should NOT ask them for a reason.  Let them go! You will see they will start explaining themselves sheepishly. Just say, you don’t want an explanation, smile and carry on doing what you were doing. If you had especially met up for this (very unlikely) just order something you want to have and let them pay. Most guys will just send a message or speak over the phone I suggest hang up on them and DO NOT let them know how hurt you are. Then take time and cry your heart out. 

If they realise their mistake they may return to you. Else, move on there are more men on this planet than women.  Cheers! Keep smiling and stay beautiful.

PS: I keep posting stuff and I am not even sure if anyone is reading this. If someone is then… Thank you :-)

Salsa = Trouble

Salsa! Just the word  in itself is enough to describe poise, passion and perfection. With all that in mind and about 6 years of contemplation I decided to join a Salsa class. but hey! I am in Turkey. Shouldn’t I be going to Spain or somewhere else where they actually do it… That’s what I was thinking, until a BIG BONE got stuck in my throat.
A few days back I had a slight argument with the “office bragging queen” who seem to know it all and after relentlessly waiting to finish what I was going to say “I have been practicing Salsa for two years now” slipped out of my mouth. And that was a darn big mistake. “Oh!” and she jumped out of her seat, immediately rushing to the director of studies to pass on the kind word that we had a Salsa dancer in our team of English Language teachers. Director is a very kind and creative man who seem to want, to be ahead of others in his league. Therefore, to present ourselves as a “competition for the language schools we will now also offer 90 minutes of Salsa classes each week, free of charge. Furthermore the classes, will be conducted by an ace dancer who has been practicing for two years now.” The only thing good about that for me; these 90 minutes will be counted as working hours.
Absolutely, one knows that on the name of Salsa I only know the first, basic step which has been enough to get me into trouble. Now that the dooms day of utter embarrassment is heading closer I need to get moving. The first thing I did yesterday was to locate the most pristine dance school in my small town. Not that I had many choices anyway, I went there and signed up, made the payment and begged to start my class yesterday. The teacher wasn’t available, so the mentors Mehmet and Setenay,offered to help me. Right now, other than the basic step I have a plan. I will teach as I learn. Finally, my formal shoes saw daylight as I stepped out of home to head for my first class which lasted little over 3 hours. Mehmet asked me to join them for the weekly Salsa event, where dancers from all over the province come to show their talent. I had only seen anything like that in ‘Shall we dance’, but was hell excited to see it for real. After my class he gave me an hour, to go home, change, eat,  pack extra T-shirts (in case I get sweaty, considering I sweat like a pig and stink like a one too that was an advice well deserved). The dance school is about 15 minutes walk from home, so actually I just had 30 minutes. Guess what!!! I do not have any nice clothes, as it is winters,I decided to invest in jumpers and coats, rather than shirts. So,I went shopping, ate, packed and was back in about 1 hours 15 minute. Quite a marathon but I did it. Everyone was waiting outside the school for the buss to arrive. I took that time to get introduced to the other schoolmates. Being the only foreigner (and English speaker, with mere comprehension of Turkish), I was like the brand new toy. Object of everyone’s interest; they all would start the conversation with me in Turkish, and would soon realize I was an alien. The entire night I was the center of attention. I told everyone that I was only 3 hours old in Salsa, so they appreciated and suggested to do the basics once I was on the dance floor; of which I had no intentions.
It took us about 45 minutes to reach the venue. And then the action began… I was intimidated to see all the other dancers. With absolutely no regrets of learning Salsa in Turkey. I stared at them like they were some sort of supernova, that no one ever witnessed. Mesmerized and completely awestruck I watched them as they swirled around the floor. My throat went dry and I felt goosebumps everywhere in my body; even in the places I didn’t imagine they existed. After a while, I accumulated my shattered self confidence and esteem, to head towards the dance floor. Setenay was a patient teacher, so she offered to take me with her. Every steep soon stared to fall in place. I sure went a little ahead of the basic step. Though I made a few mistakes, but who cares! There were about 20 couples on the dance floor I am sure no one noticed.
They took a lot of pictures, of which I happen to be in a few (or I would like to think so).  After Salsa, Bachata and Cha Cha Cha, music changed to fun filled Meringue, soon followed by Turkish and Arabic music. I tried to match the Traditional Turkish dance steps, which were fairly simple as compared to what I had seen through the evening. My schoolmates were surprised to see that, they all watched me I like I was doing something strange. With similar expressions on their faces as I had when I watched them. In order not to offend anyone with the wrong step, I followed everything to the T. They all joked if I was Turkish, and the evening ended with laughter, a bowl of midnight chorba (soup), a long ride back home and lots of friendly smiles which wholeheartedly welcomed me to their wonderful world. :-)